Mayor & Council

About the Council

Newark City Council is comprised of six council members and a mayor, each of whom has one vote. Six council members, elected from separate districts, serve staggered two-year terms. The mayor, elected at-large, serves a three-year term. Use the links to the left to learn more about the city council.


The city council meets the second and fourth Monday of each month at 7 p.m. in the Municipal Building's council chamber.

Learn More About…